Man “Contaminates” OR Reservoir

20110617-104553.jpg

A 21 year old man picked the wrong spot to take a leak in Portland, OR. Joshua Seater was seen on surveillance urinating in Mount Tebor reservoir, a source of 8 million gallons of drinking water. The reservoir will now be drained and filtered, costing the city $35,000.

Several people have said that this is an overreaction considering the water is purified before it actually makes it to residents’ faucets, but administrator for the Portland Water Bureau, David Shaff, disagrees. “I don’t think so. I think just dealing with the ‘yuck factor,’ I can imagine how many people would be saying, ‘I made orange juice with that water this morning.’ That’s not what I want to hear.” Shaff continued, “If I shut down the reservoir every time, a dead duck or dead squirrel or a frisbee was in the reservoir, I’d shut it down daily.”

Ok two things… First, who uses water to make orange juice? I haven’t made it that many times, but when I did, I’ve always used oranges. Second, Mr. Shaff thinks urine has more of a yuck factor than decaying animal flesh? This blogger disagrees.

Posted on June 17, 2011, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

