Blood Test for Life Expectancy

Would you take a blood test if it showed how long you had left to live? Such a test will be available to the public in Britain later this year for around $700.

Here’s how it works (explained to the best of my non-scientific ability). At the end of each chromosome there is a structure called a telomere. Scientists believe that telomere length can be used as an indication of how fast an individual is aging. The blood test will be used to measure the length of your telomeres and compare your chronological age to your biological age.

I bet insurance companies are drooling over the release of this test. I don’t think I’d want to take it. For now, I think I’ll enjoy the few remaining years of my youth and continue thinking I have a lot of time left. I’m sure if I had a wife and kids to supply for my response would be different.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in News. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

